Thank You, Donald Trump.

DSC_0039

WAT.

Yeah, Thank You Donald Trump.

If the title of this piece angers you, well then we’re on the same page. Welcome! I’ve never been into politics. Truth be told, the extent of my involvement in politics was always just walking into the booth and casting my votes at presidential elections. Politics never interested me and I did my best to steer clear of them completely.

I was born in 1989 which makes me 27 years old as I type this today. What that also means is that I was first eligible to vote in 2007 and I voted for my first president in 2009. Now even though I was only 20 years old at the time, I fully understood the historical importance of that election. On the ballot was the first african american presidential nominee. It felt like a turning point for the nation. A nation with slavery, racism, segregation and internment camps in its history. Yet, here we were. On the verge of electing a black man to our nation’s highest position. An honor and a privilege I had twice.

But keep in mind the title of this piece. I am not writing this to honor Barack Obama. There are others who can and have done it with more eloquence than I ever could. No, this piece is about Donald Trump. Host of The Apprentice. When he entered the race, I laughed at his inclusion on the ballot. I thought there was no way he would get elected. No political experience at all? He’s unqualified. Therefore, irrelevant. But then he opened his mouth:

“When Mexico sends its people, they’re not sending the best. They’re not sending you, they’re sending people that have lots of problems and they’re bringing those problems with us. They’re bringing drugs. They’re bringing crime. They’re rapists… And some, I assume, are good people.”

Oh.

That literally, was all I needed to hear. I knew it was time for me to start paying attention. You see I, as many of you reading this surely are, am a child of an immigrant. So when my mom sat down and filled out the Mexican Citizens being Sent to the United States application, she bypassed the drug and rape sections, and checked the I Would Like A Better Life box. So here I am. A working, tax paying, citizen of the United States. I am son to a single mother of 3 who also became a working, tax paying citizen of the United States. I have 2 sisters, who are working, tax paying citizens of the United States.

So now, Donald Trump is our president. Well, he is the U.S. President, I refuse to acknowledge him as my own, and you can criticize me all you want for that one. But here is a simple comparison. We all remember George Bush’s presidency and all the jokes that were made at his expense. We remember the quotes and the rambling speeches. But was there any doubt that he took the job seriously? That is my biggest problem with Mr. Trump. I don’t believe he understands the magnitude of his position in office. There are millions of people affected by every decision made.

I feel like I am rambling now…

So yes, Mr. Donald Trump. 45th President of the United States. Thank you. Thank you for making me realize, that politics is not something to be afraid of. Thank you for making me realize that my voice will make a difference. Thank you for making me realize that I can no longer stand on the sidelines and watch. It’s time to act. It’s time to resist. And it’s time to UNITE.

Thank you, Donald Trump.

-danny.losangeles

Leave a Reply

